Need to split transmission case and re seal.
Page 1 of 4 1 2 3 ... LastLast
Like Tree72Likes

Thread: Need to split transmission case and re seal.

1. Top | #1

Last Online
    03-09-2019 @ 05:37 AM
    Thanks

Need to split transmission case and re seal.

Hi all, I'm new to the JD forum. It looks like it is full of good info and good people. I'm hoping to get a little advice about my oil leak issue. I have a new to me 2008 1026r with 600hrs on it. I parked it in the garage used it for a few hours and then noticed a few days later that it was leaking oil. I have investigated this leak and what I found was a half dozen loose bolts holding the right rear tranny case together. I've marked the picture with red dots identifying the lose bolts. The oil is leaking from the the top half of the right side housing (circled in yellow in pic). The JD shop says $1600 to open and re seal. Has anyone tackled this themselves? Are there any special tools needed. Can it be done in place? Or does the whole tranny rear end have to come out. I've noticed that the frame parts will have to come off. Any advice would be greatly appreciated. Click image for larger version. 

Name:	20180404_093856.jpg 
Views:	242 
Size:	62.8 KB 
ID:	584297

Sent from my SM-G930W8 using Tapatalk
    Tomfive likes this.

2. Remove Advertisements
    GreenTractorTalk.com
    Advertisements

3. Top | #2
    Last Online
    Today @ 08:30 AM
    Thanks
    Thanked 3,105 Times in 2,268 Posts
    A technical manual will help with this -

TM109719

https://www.greenfarmparts.com/Searc...earch=tm109719
    ~Stan~
    It is what it is
    Knowledge is power, ignorance is bliss
    2520 w/200CX w/62D2

4. The Following User Says Thank You to coaltrain For This Useful Post:

mcclean.don (04-04-2018)

5. Top | #3

Last Online
    Thanks
    Quote Originally Posted by coaltrain View Post
    A technical manual will help with this -

TM109719

https://www.greenfarmparts.com/Searc...earch=tm109719