Green Tractor Talk banner

One tough little tractor!

3K views 14 replies 9 participants last post by  9MMMAC 
#1 ·
I am a professional beekeeper and I recently moved a few hives to a lufelong friends family farm. Its a small farm thats been in the family for 3 generations and just 3 miles from home. Jer mom is now living with her 2 hrs away so no one at the farm. Most of it is leased to a local farmer but she asked if Id move some bees there to make it feel like the old days. After a while I thought about putting in a small field of buckwheat to experiment making buckwheat honey. Coincidentally there is a .75 acre field next to the bees. Its been hay for years but hasent been turned over in a lo g time. The farmer hates baling it because its small and odd shaped. I decided to take a try at working it with my 1025r and County Line 4 ft tiller. I mowed it short with my Woods Brushbull first then took the tiller over. I already had a backup, a neigjbor with an old JD B that would plow it if the tiller didnt work. That 1025r buried the tiller and pulled like a bigger tractor. I havent heard it work like THAT since I got it in November. The 3/4 of an acre was done in just a little over 2 hrs (if we subract the time spent dislodging one rock lodged in the tines and what looked like a ground rod wrapped around the tiller shaft). By thebtime I was sone, the sod laying onntop was alrwasy getti g dry so I decided to do it a second time, not as deep, the reduce the ridges created between passed. The second time it had almost no ridges and went much faster. I had originally planned to drag it aftee tilling but after looking at it I decided to hit it ligjtly a 3rd time and call it good. It may get rained on this week before the seed comes. If so, Ill run over it quick before seeding, then roll it after seeding. I have ro say this has been the most impressive job Ive done with this machine. Its not the old 3020 I learned on but for a while it felt a little like it!

Attachments