Page 1 of 4 1 2 3 ... LastLast
Like Tree84Likes

Thread: Newbie - 1025R

1. Top | #1

Last Online
    04-16-2017 @ 06:56 PM
    Thanks

Newbie - 1025R

I posted this over in the New Member section but someone suggested I post here as well.

Hi gang! Total newbie here. I have never owned a tractor. However, we keep running into situations where a tractor sure would be handy on our 6 acres which is all mowable yard/pasture. We have a zero turn for mowing. As I thought about how I might initially use a tractor, it basically came down to FEL work, occasional mowing, driveway maintenance and some fill in/ground leveling projects.

I searched for months for a used tractor to meet my needs. However, as we know, used ones are pretty pricey and never exactly what you're looking for. So, I finally resigned myself to buying a new machine. Kubota, Mahindra and JD were on the final list. After extensive research, I chose the 1025R with an FEL, MMM and box blade as my first tractor. It is to be delivered next week. I vacillate between being super excited and feeling like I am in over my head.

After hours on GTT, I have already discovered a few things that seem to be "must do" such as Ron's Hooks for the FEL, 18 inch flexible whips for my grease guns and the 1025R service manual.

What else should I be thinking about? Any advise is welcome and appreciated. Thanks in advance for sharing your knowledge.
    Gizmo2, Levi, blue87fj60 and 2 others like this.

2. Remove Advertisements
    GreenTractorTalk.com
    Advertisements

3. Top | #2
    Keeper of the GTT Cookies dieselshadow's Avatar
    Last Online
    Today @ 07:03 PM
    Thanks
    Thanked 4,329 Times in 2,601 Posts
    Kenny will have a laugh at being called Ron. It's Ken's Bolt-on Hooks.

I highly recommend you look into getting a ballast box, Heavy Hitch, or another means of rear ballast to offset the weight and use of the loader. Here's some good reading. What is rear ballast and why do I need it?