Page 1 of 6 1 2 3 ... LastLast
Like Tree132Likes

Thread: Increased lubricity, diesel additives

1. Top | #1

Last Online
    09-18-2019 @ 04:04 PM
    Thanks

Increased lubricity, diesel additives

Im new to this tractor life and I love it. But of course I know nothing, as Sgt Shultz would say. One of the guys at church was saying he is adding ATF to his diesel since his injector pump siezed. Its what his mechanic has always used. So I started asking around. Believe it or not the JD dealer actually said he uses Marvel Mystery oil, others use outboard motor oil, bio diesel. So I will ask the community. Am I being overly concerned. I probably use about 50 gallons a year. Also I was thinking of buying a 55 gallon drum at the beginning of winter. that way I would have it for my generator if needed and if not use it in the tractor next season. I realize moisture is a concern. All inputs appreciated. If it makes a difference i'm in middle TN.

2. Remove Advertisements
    GreenTractorTalk.com
    Advertisements

3. Top | #2

Last Online
    Yesterday @ 07:49 PM
    Thanks
    The only additive I use is an anti gel additive in the winter, and even then I had my diesel gel up in my filter a couple of years ago. New diesels are designed to run on low sulfur fuel and in my opinion and additive is more likely to cause problems then help.

If you really want to add something its been a few years ago but I saw a study that showed what additives added the most lubrication properties to diesel, and bio was at the top of the list. Maybe if you had a much older diesel engine you might consider it more important. Maybe someone will post a link to that study.
    DanW likes this.
    2018 2025r, FEL, 60" autoconnect deck, pallet forks, some other stuff.

4. Top | #3
    Last Online
    Yesterday @ 11:30 PM
    Thanks
    Thanked 1,660 Times in 1,257 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Jimbea View Post