Page 1 of 3 1 2 3 LastLast
Like Tree116Likes

Thread: Hitch pin / Lock?

1. Top | #1

Last Online
    @
    Thanks

Hitch pin / Lock?

I have a fairly solid hitch pin that I've been using for 20 years. Has a little corrosion on it but it otherwise in good shape. I've used it a number of times to tow a fairly heavy trailer (9000 lbs) and it shows NO sign of any stress or wear.

The problem I'm having is that it's a locking hitch pin and the lock itself is basically shot. It's so caked inside with crud that you can slip anything into the key slot, twist, and it will open.

I'm looking for a replacement locking hitch pin and I'm wondering if anyone has any suggestions.

- Needs to be able to handle a 10k trailer
    - Needs to have a lock
    - Lock should have a cover to keep debris and water out of the lock cylinder

What have you got to offer???
    pcabe5 likes this.
    ---

2011 JD 2520 with 200cx loader, 61" materials bucket, and Artillian JDQA Pallet Forks (42" forks). 62D MMM, ballast box, turfs, and loaded rears.

2. Remove Advertisements
    GreenTractorTalk.com
    Advertisements

3. Top | #2
    Last Online
    09-16-2018 @ 05:37 AM
    Thanks

Hitch Pin Lock

I found one of these in the bargain cave at Cabelas for about $20.00. Works well for me and don't need another key to keep up with.
    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	IMG_0240.JPG 
Views:	157 
Size:	11.8 KB 
ID:	288098

BOLT Trailer Hitch Receiver Lock - 2" and 2-1/2" Hitch - Codes to Chrysler/Dodge/Jeep Key Bolt Locks BL7018448
    Attached Thumbnails Attached Thumbnails IMG_0239.JPG  
    pcabe5, Levi, BigJim55 and 3 others like this.
    2001 John Deere 4300 MFWD with 420 FEL, Woods BH 70 backhoe, Bush Hog 60" rotary cutter, Everything Attachments wicked grapple, Artillian diverter kit and hoses, 6' box blade, Springtooth plow, carryall. Power beyond kit and one remote. Towing it with a Dodge Ram 3500 and a 22' tilt trailer.

4. Top | #3
    Hey, I want a title too! ZachinCO's Avatar