Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
Like Tree16Likes

Thread: JD 301 Load control shaft

1. Top | #1

Last Online
    05-24-2018 @ 11:07 PM
    Thanks

JD 301 Load control shaft

I'm a novice when it comes to tractors, but mechanically minded otherwise. While mowing, the bolt and retainer on the left side of the load control shaft came off without me knowing it. When I made a turn the draw arm pulled off that end of the shaft (ripping the ball out of the arm). The right draw arm under load pulled the load control shaft into the transmission housing.

When I attempt to push the shaft back through the bushing on the left side it is misaligned low and to the rear. I know the shaft it supposed to sit in the fork above it but I suspect the fork may be out place as well.

Before I call a mechanic, I'd appreciate it if anyone could help me work through this on my own. I know I should replace the bushings and possibly the shaft, but right now I just want to figure out how to get things back in place. Though this is an old tractor, it has a little less than 4k hours on it.

Thanks in advance for any and all assistance!

Jim

2. Remove Advertisements
    GreenTractorTalk.com
    Advertisements

3. Top | #2
    Last Online
    Yesterday @ 09:47 AM
    Thanks
    JD does not recommend replacing the bushings unless absolutely necessary. JD worries since the bushings are press fit, excessive replacement could cause leaks.

Have you tried changing the position of the Load lever?

My worry would be you had key 20 and 27 fall off key 11 (2nd drawing) You would have to remove the rockshaft housing to check (1st drawing)
    Attached Thumbnails Attached Thumbnails 301rockshafthousing.gif   301Loadcontrolshaft.gif  
    J
    John Deere 2030 w/245SL Loader
    John Deere 6415 w/640SL Loader
    John Deere 285 50" deck Stolen May 2017
    John Deere x485 62" deck AWS
    Kawasaki Mule 2510 4x4 bought new 1996
    Ford F250 4x4 bought new 1978