New user, old 5410 and adding a 3rd scv?
Like Tree2Likes
  • 1 Post By Killavolt
  • 1 Post By 1010

Thread: New user, old 5410 and adding a 3rd scv?

1. Top | #1

Last Online
    12-04-2018 @ 11:39 AM
    Thanks

New user, old 5410 and adding a 3rd scv?

A little information first, I'm helping a buddy out on his farm maintaining the equipment. I'm completely green (no pun intended) to farm tractors and am having to do some minor work on an older model 5410 (540?) with the hydraulics.

I'm also not terribly familiar with hydraulics, but I am an electromechanical engineering tech and have tons of experience working on many many other machines.

That being said I'm trying to learn about this tractor and how it works, and whether or not someone has hooked up a third SCV incorrectly......but as I'm new I'm probably going to end up using a lot of wrong terms or confusing things so I apologize ahead of time.

So first of all, picture number 1, These levers both make the (rockshaft?) move up and down but I don't understand the correlation between them and how they work together.

Picture number 2, What is this little pedal for? I can't seem to figure out what it does.

Picture 3 and 4. The previous owner had removed this (SCV?) from a 5500 model tractor and attached it to this 5410 and said he "hooked it up exactly like it was on the other tractor"
    Unfortunately I forgot to mark down what was connected where to that hydraulic distribution block (whats this thing called?) but the top middle and bottom connectors are marked R T P on the plate they're mounted to.

If I'm not mistaken R (top) is hooked up to the middle port on the block. T (middle) is connected to the front most port, and P (bottom) is connected to the rear port.

Here's where things start to really not make sense for me. I'll do my best to explain.