• 1 Post By IndianaJim
  • 3 Post By wims8899

Thread: Need Help Identifying Part...Changed Hyd Fluid and This Part Fell Out

1. Top | #1

Last Online
    08-12-2019 @ 04:16 PM
    Thanks

Need Help Identifying Part...Changed Hyd Fluid and This Part Fell Out

I posted this in previous thread but figured it might need its own.

Its an '83 JD 2150 that I was doing a hydraulic fluid change on.

This is my first time changing hyd fluid on a tractor this size and the tractor is new to me.

I pulled the drain plug first and drained all the fluid, then pulled the hydraulic pickup screen

Then pulled the oil filter pack, the cover came partially down and I was working the actual filter off of the casing. Once the filter came loose, I lost secure grasp of the filter bowl, almost dropped it and heard a thump below in the drain pain below and saw this part sitting in the drain pan.

I "think" it came from the filter pack but cannot find this part in the schematic, the link to the schematic is... John Deere Parts Catalog

Looking at the schematic, I do not have part #3 accounted for, so maybe that's it? But the schematic calls part #3 a "snap ring". I don't see a snap ring from the parts that I pulled out. Perhaps this "spacer" part I found is used to help preload the filter spring??

Anybody seen a part like this? Does anyone have a more detailed schematic that might show this part?

Definitely mad at myself for not catching exactly where this came from.

Then my imagination got me thinking, "what if this fell out of the sump drain hole and wasn't in the filter pack at all?".
    If so, where in the tranny did it come from? Anybody ever have parts fall out of their tranny when they changed their hyd fluid?? That seems like it'd be a bad thing...haha!
    Attached Thumbnails Attached Thumbnails snap ring pic.JPG   IMG_4705.jpg   IMG_4706.jpg   IMG_4707.jpg  

2. Remove Advertisements
    GreenTractorTalk.com
    Advertisements

3. Top | #2
    Last Online
    Today @ 08:18 PM