• 1 Post By IndianaJim
  • 1 Post By x1337computing

Thread: JD 318 Blowing White Smoke

1. Top | #1

Last Online
    11-15-2019 @ 07:30 AM
    Thanks

JD 318 Blowing White Smoke

So im pretty sure my 318 engine just blew today. Ive noticed over the last couple weeks oil has been pushing up threw the carb and pooling around the air filter. Today i was mowing for a while and all of a sudden it dropped rpm and white smoke started spewing out of the engine. I shut it off and let it sit for an hour and got it to start long enough to pull in the garage. It seemed to run strong and wasnt blowing any smoke.

Now im no master mechanic but i do know my way around engine bays and i am mechanically inclined. Im assuming the rings are shot on the pistons and its burning oil aka time for a rebuild. What i dont understand is why it seemed fine after i let it sit for an hour. Im looking for opinions and if i do need to rebuild what parts will i need?

Thanks guys!
    JD 2305 w\ 200CX Loader, 260 Backhoe, 60" Mid Mount Mower

2. Remove Advertisements
    GreenTractorTalk.com
    Advertisements

3. Top | #2
    Last Online
    Yesterday @ 12:09 AM
    Thanks
    Or your breather could be plugged...
    goat704! likes this.
    Jim B.

318, 49 Thrower, 2 80 Carts, 17AT cart, 54 Blade, 12" Brinly Plow, 30 Hydraulic Tiller w/extension & Briney 3-Pt hitch, 50 deck w/JRCO Cart Bagger.
    2025R, 120R loader w/Kens Bolt On Hooks, 260B backhoe w/8" & 16" buckets, Titan 36" forks, Imatch hitch, Weight Bracket/Hitch.

Exmark Lazer Z HP 52"
    Husqvarna 550XP, 562XP, 55 Rancher

4. Top | #3

Last Online
    Thanks
    Quote Originally Posted by IndianaJim View Post
    Or your breather could be plugged...
    Just found the CTM2 manual, I will check the breather tonight, thank you!

I posted this late last night when I was falling asleep so just want to clarify. The smoke was spewing out of the exhaust not the engine bay.
    Last edited by x1337computing; 08-08-2018 at 10:10 AM.