Newbie here. Problem with a 322.
Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
Like Tree2Likes

Thread: Newbie here. Problem with a 322.

1. Top | #1

Last Online
    09-19-2018 @ 12:45 AM
    Thanks

I usually try and go through ALL the earlier post when I join a new group and have a problem. But this time I'm short on time due to the purchase of a $300.00 part that I thought was going to solve my problem but didn't. I can return it to the vendor but since it's an electronic item I'll have to pay a restocking fee so I want to be sure I don't need it before returning it.

My problem is I have one cylinder on my engine that is not firing. I've got a service manual for the Yanmar gas engine but I'm not getting anywhere solving the problem. The reason I thought it was the ignition transistor is it didn't check out as listed in the manual but when I installed the new unit I still had one cylinder not firing. I've gone through all the other tests but didn't pay much attention to readings just looked for continuity. I guess my first question is does the unit have to be mounted to the tractor in order for it to work properly or can I just connect the two plugs and try it that way?

Thanks in advance for any response. Fortunately I have a Kubota zero turn I can keep up with my mowing with but I have to have the Deere running this fall to pull my lawn vac and pick up leaves.

2. Remove Advertisements
    GreenTractorTalk.com
    Advertisements

3. Top | #2
    Last Online
    Today @ 12:17 PM
    Thanks
    You can just plug it in for a test run. You need to also check the 3 triggers mounted around the flywheel which tell the transistor module when to fire. The manual has a checkout on that too. Finally have you check the coils primary and secondary (resistance check)? That too is in the manual. Then there are plug wires and the sparkplugs to be checked also. Please be as complete as possible going through each section as you check and test. be patient your will get it.

4. Top | #3

Last Online