• 1 Post By rydplrs
  • 1 Post By twinkee340

Thread: Would like to convert JD 318 to electronic ignition

1. Top | #1

Last Online
    02-28-2019 @ 10:13 AM
    Thanks

Would like to convert JD 318 to electronic ignition

I have a 1985 JD 318 with the original B43 Onan engine with approximately 2000 hours. In the last year, i have had issues with the points and have replaced the points 3 times. I am not a mechanic and I have had my local John Deere perform all the work. I have noticed after about 2 hours running, the engine will run erratic and start to backfire. Obviously, I know I have a problem. I disengage the PTO and idle the engine. When I speed up the engine, the mower shakes and runs rough. I always run fresh clean gas each time I mow and I blow all the debris from the engine when I finish mowing. Each time I take the mower in, the points seem to be the problem. I have never had issues with the points before. In the last year the coil has been replaced twice and the points and condenser 3 times. I had suggested to my mechanic about replacing the current setup with an electronic ignition system. Has anyone ever changed over to electronic ignition before? Is there a how to video out there? Any suggestions, ideas, hints would be very much appreciated. I love this JD 318 but it is starting to frustrate me when I have 3.5 acres of grass/field to keep up with and my mower is sitting in the shop.

2. Remove Advertisements
    GreenTractorTalk.com
    Advertisements

3. Top | #2
    Last Online
    Today @ 09:57 PM
    Thanks
    The man to know is boomer. He is a very knowledgeable about Onans and has the parts.

His web page: Boomers Used Onan Engine Parts
    jd2854020 and 69project like this.

4. Top | #3

Last Online
    04-22-2019 @ 09:59 PM
    Thanks

Imagine 59

Quote Originally Posted by imagine59 View Post