Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
Like Tree1Likes

Thread: 318 Starting Problems

1. Top | #1

Last Online
    11-01-2018 @ 01:40 PM
    Thanks

318 Starting Problems

My 318 has been having starting issues and I'm not sure what step to take next.

Last week I went to start it up and I was just getting a "chunk" sound with every key turn. So after some reading on here I purchased and installed the Starter Improvement Relay Kit.

Once I had the kit on I went to start up and now I'm just getting a grinding noise coming from the engine area with the key turn. I'm brand new to working on these tractors with very minimal knowledge on them but that's why I'm here.

So what's my next course of action in getting my 318 running again?

2. Remove Advertisements
    GreenTractorTalk.com
    Advertisements

3. Top | #2

Last Online
    Today @ 02:48 PM
    Thanks
    I'm not too familiar with 318, but here's what I think could (??) be going on: You may have a broken mounting tab on your starter or simply a bolt fell out. Your original "clunk" could have been the pinion gear on the starter hitting the flywheel...not engaging, just hitting due to misalignment. Now, they gear is still hitting the flywheel but the starter kit gives the starter motor enough power to rotate...again, against the flywheel but not engaging.

First, is engine turning over when starter motor rotates?
    Second, check all of your starter mounting bolts...will probably need a mirror.
    '80 317 w/18hp B&S and divert valve for rear hydraulics, 3 pt hitch, 5' york rake
    '82 314 w/rear PTO for tiller
    33 tiller
    49 thrower
    54 4 way blade
    Mod 48 deck & Mod 462 TracVac

4. Top | #3

Last Online
    Thanks
    Thanks for the reply. No the engine is not turning over at all. Just getting the grinding noise and that's it. I'll try to get a video of it played if I can.

And I'll take a look tomorrow and see if I can pinpoint any loose mounting bolts on the starter and tighten them back down.