Green Tractor Talk banner
1 - 17 of 17 Posts

·
Administrator
20,876 Posts
I have a few no-name sets, they all seem the same to me-probably all made in the same factory. These are machinist's tools that have crossed over into woodworking.

·
Registered
Gen 1 2025R
40 Posts
I was a prototype machinist / designer in the automotive industry for 33 years.

The lowest cost 1 2 3 blocks will work great for any use you will need. The pair I bought for at home was $8, but that was a few years back.

The high dollar 1 2 3 blocks are mostly used in inspection rooms that are temperature controlled and need to be certified to specific industry standards. This would be way overkill for anything we do at home.

Kurt

·
Senior GTT Super Slacker
42,340 Posts
Discussion Starter · #4 ·
Thanks Kurt L. (y)

Reactions: Herminator

·
Registered
1,865 Posts
Top dollar blocks are probably flat, square, and parallel within 0.0005" (a half thou), where lower grade blocks are "only" +/- 0.001. For a homeowner with a shop, lower grade is just fine! Bob

·
Premium Member
2,003 Posts
It depends what your going to use them for. I have a small mill and lath that I make parts for when I restore stuff. Antique telegraph equipment, Fire alarm boxes etc.... they come in handy when I need to block something up and clamp it in place to machine Or make a part. mine are decent quality. I forget what the tolerances are but I had bought a decent set at the time. For some home tinkering, an inexpensive set would be fine.

·
Registered
4,855 Posts
As mentioned, it depends on what you want to do. If you are inspecting on a granite surface table using a height stand, etc. and need parallel blocks within .0001" or better, I would invest in more expensive/precise blocks. If you are using them for general set-up/blocking at home, and I assume you're not checking on a granite table, probably the cheapest set would be OK.

Just my 2 cents.

·
Registered
3,224 Posts