Green Tractor Talk banner

1 - 16 of 16 Posts

·
Premium Member
1,167 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
While I'm waiting for my new tractor I'm making a list of mods and add ons and starting to order material. I'm new to tractors so need advice on this one. One of the tasks I will be doing is clearing the brush and dragging out alot of fallen dead pines and the ones I will take down. I've read on the forum that one shouldn't drag with the bucket.. Does anyone know where a good spot is to weld or bolt on a hook that would be convenient to use with the backhoe and FEL is attached ?

·
Registered
1,433 Posts
You can always get some of Ken's weld on hooks and weld it to the bucket. He sells a bolt on version as well. He is a vendor on here. I went with an Artillian grapple to deal with my trees and brush. He is a vendor here as well and the grapple is the perfect size for a 1 series if you ask me. I have a 2210 which is a predecessor of the 1 series by about 2 generations. Same size tractor though. I simply cut the tree into 10-12 foot sections (depending on size of trunk) and grab them with my grapple. Now if you are in the woods and can't carry a log due to obstacles then I usually grab the end of the log and drag with my grapple, however a set of hooks and chain might be advantageous. If you do get a grapple make sure you don't grab a log that is bigger than what you should be carrying. Rear ballast is a must and that back hoe should help a lot in that regards. :cheers:

·
Registered
110 Posts
Forks