Green Tractor Talk banner

1 - 20 of 32 Posts

·
Registered
20 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi everyone;

I am new to working on tractors, so not sure if this is how things should be - I noticed this little rubber, what appears to be a boot, held on by only a small piece of it. I am worried it should be covering up a joint or something, not just hanging there. Anyone know what this is?

Thanks!!
-Ed

LeftFrontBootOff3.JPG

Attachments

·
Senior GTT Super Slacker
37,789 Posts
Good one 56FordGuy. :thumbup1gif:
From what I can tell it's not supposed to be there.

Reactions: Levi

·
Registered
12 Posts
ebj14,

That is your tie rod end boot.... just like the ones on a automobile.

Yes you need to replace it P/N LVA15990

if you do not replace it water and dirt will destroy the joint and it will get sloppy and eventually fail altogether.

mine has started doing the same thing 200 Hrs.... I am keeping it well greased right now, but will be replacing it soon.

·
Premium Member
2,140 Posts
It is definitely the steering cylinder tie rod grease boot. For that boot to get to where it is now, it must be torn somewhere, because the only way that boot can come out is to take the cylinder tie rod attaching nut off and remove the cylinder end from the steering knuckle.

·
Registered
747 Posts
Normally it looks like this...

DSCF7445.JPG

yours probably has a split in it and fell out...

·
Registered
20 Posts
Discussion Starter #8
It is definitely the steering cylinder tie rod grease boot. For that boot to get to where it is now, it must be torn somewhere, because the only way that boot can come out is to take the cylinder tie rod attaching nut off and remove the cylinder end from the steering knuckle.
Great - thanks for all the replies!