Green Tractor Talk banner

1 - 20 of 33 Posts

·
Registered
17 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I've picked up my second thorn in my new 1025r, this time in a rear tire, which was WAY down this morning. Anyone put slime in these tires? I've done it for years in my riding mowers and works fine (these things aren't running at highway speed, lol).

Is it ok to just put slime in it and get back to work? I have a feeling this is going to be a thing...

Thanks!

·
Registered
1,252 Posts
That’s gotta be some thorn to puncture an R4. I have zero experience with slime, but had a neighbor who did his quads with it and swore by it. If you got spiky pokeys, maybe look into foam filled if you can afford it. They will add some nice stability, and never go flat again. Your local tire shop should be able to give you a quote.

·
Registered
3,235 Posts
I like the John Deere tire sealant. It is non hardening and non corrosive. They also have a concentrate formula for fluid filled tires. I figure when I have them change a tire in the future that they will cry less because they sold it to me(most tire guys hate sealant because it makes a mess).

·
Registered
2,278 Posts
I have used slime in most anything I mow with for years as I have problems with thorns from trees in a fence row. I did fix the first flat on my 1025r when I first got it but after another flat within 2 weeks I just went ahead and slimed both front tires. I've only ever had the problem with the small front tires so I've never used it in a rear tire but probably would try it if having the same problem with them.

We don't have a local tire shop so on my Kubota ZTR I had the dealer send the front tires and wheels out to have foam put in them but they were so out of balance when I got them back that it was almost unbearable to drive. Turns out the next model up from mine offered foamed front wheels/tires from the factory as an option so I put a set of those on it and have had no problems with it since.

·
Registered
145 Posts