Green Tractor Talk banner

1 - 20 of 49 Posts

·
Registered
16 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi all,

New poster here. This seems like a great community :).

My wife and I just purchased 10acres outside the city. It has a gentle slope, and about 2/3rds of it is cleared with grass/brush growing.

I'm new to living in the countryside. I've been in suburbs my whole life (I'm 32). Been reading a bit on various projects we'd like to tackle -- mowing around 7 acres of brush/grass, putting down new gravel on the driveway, grading some of the land to plant some crops. Rather quickly decided that a tractor is probably the right tool to have around to get these jobs done in a timely manner. (My wife thinks I'm a bit crazy though, our discussion went from a lawn mower to riding mower to tractor pretty quickly).

So we went to look at the JD 1025R last weekend. The dealer had them put next to a row of 3-family tractors, so the 1-series looked really small in comparison :). I really liked the 1025R TLB, it seems like a pretty good package, especially since I'll need to put down some french drains to address various drainage issues we have, as well as dig some trenches to run electrical out to a shed, so the backhoe seem like it would come in handy.

My question is if a 1025R is a good "beginner" tractor -- or do you think I should get a riding mower first, get used to that, before getting a tractor? Even though it's the smallest tractor JD has, still seems like a serious piece of equipment to have.

The dealer here has a sale on the 1025R TLB right now -- $19,929. That seems like a pretty good deal, considering I see used ones going for around 16-18K. Getting 0% financing on top of that makes it pretty attractive.

Anyway, any advice/tips would be appreciated. Thanks!

·
Registered
2,780 Posts
If it's affordable to you and you have a bunch of projects you want to tackle then buy it.:good2: