Green Tractor Talk banner

1 - 20 of 30 Posts

·
Registered
583 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Was wanting some oppinions on if a John Deere 14T Baler would run off my 2032R. Read somewhere that the older balers use less hp. I've never owned one. It would be nice to bale my own hay and not have it done.

·
Registered
395 Posts
I wouldn't think you would have a problem with that, but I'm no expert.

I know a guy that used to run a Vermeer 605J round baler w/ his Ford 2000 (I think) with a 3cyl Perkins in it. I don't believe they put out much over 38hp.

·
Registered
11,258 Posts
Are you going to drop bales on the ground? I wouldn't want to try to pull a hay wagon too.

·
Premium Member
10,050 Posts
I agree with DRobinson. I think weight will be as much of an issue as power. The 14T alone is about 2,500 lbs. If you pull a wagon behind it, you have the weight of the wagon along with the hay. A good bale will be at least 50-60 lbs, and it gets heavy fast.

The 2032 has 23 HP at the PTO. It might work, but I suspect it'll be a very slow process. Overall I think a 2 series, and maybe even a 3 series is a little on the light side for hay production.

·
Registered
3,220 Posts
Balers have that big fly wheel and lots of reciprocating parts. They tend to thrash a light tractor around quite a bit. We used to do quite a bit of baling with an Allis WD45. It was a pretty good tractor for the time, but you took a beating, and it was probably 4500 pounds, but maybe only 30 PTO HP. If you do try it, make sure you take some video:good2:
I thought somebody made a little baler for compacts though. I recall seeing a thread on TBN.

·
Registered
2,160 Posts