Green Tractor Talk banner

1 - 19 of 19 Posts

·
Registered
131 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hey guys I just bought my first new house and there is a 1954 Model 60 on the property and I am trying to start it.

Here is what I've tried so far, please forgive me I am new to this thing. I turned the ignition switch to the first position and put it at half throttle and I was told that the left foot pedal was to start it up. That pedal just floats around and has no resistance to it. Could the engine be frozen? There was a battery on the tractor but I don't think it was good so reluctantly I hooked up my truck to it. I was pretty sure it runs on 6 volts correct?

Thank you for any help at all!

·
Administrator
20,877 Posts
Welcome to GTT!

I too have a '54 model 60. It is currently not running but I might be able to help you. The tractor is a 12V system with the battery compartment under the seat. The starter pedal is one you step on to the left of the operators station. I circled it in red in the attached picture. BTW this was taken a few years ago when I was recovering the tractor from my Grandfather's field. It was jammed in two gears at once and had the shifter tower removed for over 10 years.:laugh:

starter pedal 60.jpg

:wgtt:

·
Registered
131 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
Hmm I for the life of me can't find that pedal. I have attached a picture of the console. The tractor doesn't look the same as yours.

Attachments

·
Administrator
20,877 Posts
I think I know what part of your problem is. That is not a 1954 model 60.

This is what my crusty 60 looks like from the rear.

ImageUploadedByTapatalk1341107757.555985.jpg

Can you find your data plate?

It should look similar to this.

ImageUploadedByTapatalk1341107831.613422.jpg

·
Administrator
20,877 Posts
Maybe this can help

Here's a video that shows a model 60 start up.:thumbup1gif:

Here's a cool 60 just for viewing pleasure. :hi:

·
Administrator
20,877 Posts
Really neat tractor!