Green Tractor Talk banner

1 - 12 of 12 Posts

·
Registered
6 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hello,

Long story short, I have my Father In Law's old 2010. The original distributor is a Prestolite that he converted to a Pertronix electronic ignition # 15420-62. Tractor was missing so I decided to change out plugs, wires, cap & rotor as they were pretty corroded. He had a goofy shaped cap (side terminals) with hodgepodged wires. I ordered a Prestolite cap and rotor which looked nothing like what was on there. To top it off, dumb me did not note the plug locations on the cap. Questions:
Should the Prestolite cap and rotor still be used with the Pertronix ignition? It fits obviously.
Can anybody tell me how to find plug numbers on cap (or the order they are in). Neither of mine are marked so I have no idea which is 1,2,etc.
I've read that you should not use copper core wires for electronic ignition? If I need carbon, anybody have suggestions for wires?

As you can read, I am not a mechanic and would appreciate any advice. I attached a pic of the old cap. Thank you.

Attachments

·
Registered
2,096 Posts
Welcome to GTT
I was employed by a JD dealer from '66-'87 working part of that time in parts dept & I never saw a distributor cap similar to the one in your photo nor is a similar cap listed in 2010 parts catalog. IIRC firing order should be on exhaust manifold with #1 cylinder being the front cylinder of the engine. Remove front spark plug then turn engine over while holding finger over plug hole to feel compression. There should be an external timing mark on flywheel or front pulley but I can't remember which place.
HTH's,Jim

·
Premium Member
8,021 Posts
Cylinders are numbered one front, to four at the back.
Firing order: 1 - 3 - 4 - 2
Wires will go counter clockwise on the cap.
Number 1 will be towards the front of the tractor.

·
Registered
6 Posts
Discussion Starter #4
Welcome to GTT