Green Tractor Talk banner

1 - 17 of 17 Posts

·
Registered
442 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
First off I’m a diesel mechanic and I don’t usually work on gas powered stuff. My daughters rifle coach has a 20 year old son who beat his 2011 ram to the point that the engine has seized. He still has 4 years of payments to make on it. I offered to replace the engine to help save them some money. I have found a replacement engine with 50k miles on it. Is there anything I should do to this engine before installing it to help prevent future problems? Other than putting a block under the go pedal? Thanks

·
Premium Member
4,321 Posts
Yea
Replace the driver
Seriously, check the exhaust manifold, replace the gasket and retorque if it’s a hemi. They’re real work horses but those years on up have developed premature exhaust leaks

·
Premium Member
16,950 Posts
Yea
Replace the driver
Seriously, check the exhaust manifold, replace the gasket and retorque if it’s a hemi. They’re real work horses but those years on up have developed premature exhaust leaks
Best advice you can tell the rifle coach, give the kid a tricycle or a bicycle to use. Anyone that smart doesn't deserve to be driving anything I'm making payment on.
If he is smart enough to destroy the engine, hopefully he would be smart enough to get his hands dirty to help remove and install the replacement engine. If nothing else to go get or find tools for you, for me he wouldn't be in the house playing video games, no head sets on and no smartphone in his hand. 20 yrs old or 16 yrs old.

·
Registered
1,528 Posts
What did he do to destroy the engine? Run it out of oil?

As others have said, the driver is far more of a problem than the 5.7L Hemi. They are good engines. The exhaust bolt breakage was one of the only problems I heard anything about from that era of Rams (I had a 2010 until 2017).

How does one end up with a 4+ year loan on a 10 year old vehicle? I didn't think banks go that long on vehicles that old.

Rob