Green Tractor Talk banner

1 - 12 of 12 Posts

·
Registered
4 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Complete newbie, never owned anything other than lawn tractors. I just began doing some research on tractors - we're moving to a new home on 5 ac the end of this month and I'll have about 3 ac of grass to mow and lots of work where a loader and backhoe will come in handy as we landscape/work the property. I'll need to move gravel/mulch/dirt - dig some holes, etc.

It is listed as a 2012, but, I believe the tractor was made in 2012 and is a year 1 model 2013,...

1 owner, 300 hours, H120 loader, quick disconnects and the cab option.
I don't know if they have written maintenance records or not, supposedly maintenance was just performed on it.
The ask price is $14k, I'm 4 hours away - looking for a heads up on what to look for and what's a reasonable offer to make on it if everything checks out.

Anything to be worried about in particular for a year 1 tractor? My guess is that any year 1 issues were fixed under warranty or earlier in the life of the machine.

Appreciate the advice!
Thanks,
Greg

·
Registered
582 Posts
For its age, the 300 hours to me is almost unbelievably low. Lots of folks put that many on in under 2 years, just taking care of residential property like you describe, especially using it for mowing. Maybe it was just a tractor shed queen; maybe it was laid up with problems. As far as routine service, in 300 hours there are only 2 scheduled per the owner's manual, if the owner went completely by hours - 50 and 200. I'd hope the owner has some records showing annual services as well.

You mentioned your need for mowing 3 acres, but not whether this tractor comes with a mower. Does it, or will you be adding one yourself? And does a tractor with a cab fit into what needs mowing at your new place? Things like lots of trees with low limbs to consider.

·
Registered
537 Posts