Green Tractor Talk banner

1 - 20 of 24 Posts

·
Registered
25 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi all,

Figured I'd run this by you all before digging too deep and/or calling the dealer. It's a 2018 1025R with about 120 hours on it.

My wife was mowing today when I got home from work. After a little bit she came up to the house, idled it down and it sat for a couple minutes at idle to cool down before shutting it off, same as we always do. After a couple hours I went out to put it in the garage, turned the key and absolutely nothing. No glow plug, fuel pump, indication, nothing, it's like I didn't even turn the key. I thought well crap, I've read about batteries just dying but all the lights work fine and are bright.

I pulled the ignition run power and ignition switch fuse and they are good. It was getting dark so I didn't mess with it any more, so tomorrow I'll take another look at it. Anything you all might know if that would be a quick fix? I'm a mechanic so I don't mind digging into things but since it's under warranty I'm not going to do too much, let the dealer fix it if I need to.

·
Premium Member
539 Posts
A 2018 shouldn't have the dead battery issue this soon (but anything is possible)

Are you getting power to the starter when the key is turned?

As you said all the lights are working, do they dim out when you try to turn the key?

If you aren't getting juice down to the starter, Id have to guess the starter relay or at worse, the starter itself?

See if the starter relay part number is the same as any of the others and if so, swap them around (marking where they came from originally helps)

Relays are fairly cheap (although, no idea what JD gets for theirs) but other than that, yours is still under warranty and Id let the dealer handle it if its more than that.

·
Registered
148 Posts
How about something even simpler like shifter in gear yet- H or L?

Thought someone had trouble with H L shifter not going into neutral.