Green Tractor Talk banner

1 - 17 of 17 Posts

·
Registered
21 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hello, I just purchased a 1987 2155 that I knew it was not working prior to the sale. I started playing around with it and what it’s doing is when I turn the key to the left the lights go on on the instrument cluster but I get nothing when I turn the key to the right. I thought maybe the starter might be bad but I was able to crank the engine by jumping the connectors on the starter relay on the firewall. I’m wondering if there are any safety switches on the tractor that might disengage the starter switch?

I have an owners manual coming but I’m super excited to get it running.

Any help would be nice. Rick

·
Registered
2,021 Posts
Welcome to GTT
There's a neutral start switch located under cowling(key 6) that one straddles when seated on tractor that screws into very front of rockshaft housing. Sometimes switch can be removed then a sealing washer or 2 can be removed then switch re-installed & operate correctly

Attachments

·
Registered
21 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
Thanks. For testing purposes only can I short the wires coming from the harness to see if that’s my problem?

·
Premium Member
7,943 Posts
Thanks. For testing purposes only can I short the wires coming from the harness to see if that’s my problem?
You could jumper the two wires that connect to the neutral start switch, but be aware the tractor will be able to start in gear.

·
Registered
21 Posts
Discussion Starter #5
OK so that's not my problem. The neutral safety switch is working just fine. But there is another switch located on the left side of the tractor just below the foot rest on what I think is the transmission that is connected in series to one of the wires that is part of the newtral safety switch that I cannot figure out if it's working or what it's for.

It looks like one of the wires coming up from the neutral safety switch connects to two small black relays.