Green Tractor Talk banner

1 - 20 of 22 Posts

·
Registered
8 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hello all! I am experiencing what I expect is a failing steering cylinder but would like some feedback. When driving on our local dirt road (significant crown) and FEL loaded and ballast box on 3 pt, I have to continue to dial in steering towards crown of road to keep tractor going straight. I am a complete rookie when it comes to tractor service but have worked on cars extensively.

1/ Does this sound like a steering cylinder issue?
2/ How difficult would the repair be if I chose to take this on myself?

Thanks in advance for any help!

·
Registered
1,010 Posts
I would think, just like a vehicle, the crown in the road would have negative affect to the steering, not being a flat surface.
This causes the tire surface of each wheel, to support the load differently. Which I think would react as you have experienced.
Does the steering react the same way on flat ground?
If yes, I would look at the tie-rod ends for looseness.

·
Registered
8 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
I would think, just like a vehicle, the crown in the road would have negative affect to the steering, not being a flat surface.
This causes the tire surface of each wheel, to support the load differently. Which I think would react as you have experienced.
Does the steering react the same way on flat ground?
If yes, I would look at the tie-rod ends for looseness.
I didn't do a good job at describing issue. I have to continue steering into crown to keep tractor going straight. Meaning, not just one steering adjustment to compensate for the unlevel road, but continuously steering into crown of road as I drive. If the tractor had mechanical linkage, I would have been doing circles with the amount of steering I am putting in. Tractor tracks straight on level ground without need for steering.

·
Registered
23,787 Posts
How is the front tire pressures? Does it do the same with the bucket empty?