Green Tractor Talk banner

240V Outlet Question

4K views 32 replies 13 participants last post by  arlen 
#1 ·
So I want to learn how to weld within 6-12 months. I’m looking at also getting some beer brewing equipment that requires 240 as well.

So here is what’s in the shop (done by the PO whom built the shop and house):

So keep in mind I know next to nothing about electric. But it appears it’s a 60A circuit.

Here is what the brewery company says for requirements:

So I’m no expert but it appears what I have is not the 14-30 or 14-50 outlet?

Is that outlet in my shop an old version? Or something specific to welders (I’m speculating as I have no idea what PO used it for)? Would I need two outlets (one for a welder and one for brewing equipment)? Silly me I thought 240V outlets were all the same….[emoji2371]

See less See more
#2 ·
What you have is a NEMA 6-50R 50 amp outlet. It's a standard outlet that was used for kitchen ranges for years. Lots of welding setups used them too. It's an older outlet from the days of "We'll give you 2 hots and Neutral!".

That has since been replaced by the 4-prong outlets. So now you get 2 hot legs, a neutral AND a ground wire.

And yes, you'll need two different outlets for your desired setup. But that might be easier than it sounds.

Reactions: MattL
#9 ·
What you have is a NEMA 6-50R 50 amp outlet. It's a standard outlet that was used for kitchen ranges for years. Lots of welding setups used them too. It's an older outlet from the days of "We'll give you 2 hots and Neutral!".

That has since been replaced by the 4-prong outlets. So now you get 2 hot legs, a neutral AND a ground wire.

And yes, you'll need two different outlets for your desired setup. But that might be easier than it sounds.
I don’t think that is a range outlet. The OP’s plug is 250 volt only (2 hots and a ground) not the 250/125 volt range plugs that had 2 hots and a neutral.