Green Tractor Talk banner
1 - 20 of 56 Posts

·
Registered
21 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi! I'm a newbie here. My 3038e won't start, click, or get lights. Battery is freshly off the charger. Looked all over for a loose wire and didn't see anything. I used it all afternoon the other day, parked it, turned if off and returned a few hours later to the current sad situation. Any help on this would be fantastic!

·
Registered
1,657 Posts
Battery connections clean and tight?
This. Take both cables off and get a battery terminal brush (any auto parts store, looks like this) and clean both the cable ends and the battery terminals bright and shiny. Tighten down and try again. With only 12 volts available, it don't take much to stop the flow of current.

·
Premium Member
17,271 Posts

·
Registered
3,870 Posts
If it’s an OEM Deere battery there are a lot of threads on here about them suddenly dying. Mine did, about a month out of its 36 month warranty. Would just click the relays on but nothing else. New battery and started right up.

·
Registered
2,615 Posts
The battery is probably ok but not a sure thing. The best way is to load test it. You can also check it with a voltmeter, usually reads 12.6 to 13 volts for a good battery. I put off buying a load tester for years, bought one a few years ago and use it more often then I thought I would, a good one costs $60 and a cheap one $20.

·
Premium Member
17,271 Posts
we put it on the charger until it said it was full
You need to load test it. Most auto parts stores will test them for free.

·
Registered
2,409 Posts
You need to load test it. Most auto parts stores will test them for free.
Agreed.
Do that, after cleaning and tightening all connections on the battery, and the ground cable at the tractor, including the tractor side of the ground connection. Electrical/star washers work good at this connection, to easily get through grime and corrosion.

Reactions: ClydeLogan

·
Registered
3,038 Posts