Green Tractor Talk banner
1 - 7 of 7 Posts

·
Premium Member
6,698 Posts
Wow, that looks great. Were you considering a 3pt? What are the differences in use for the two? I mean how is one better than the other?

·
Registered
733 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
I was considering a 3pt...I had actually bought a IHC C-20 Plow which was Fast Hitch with the intention of converting it to a 3pt version... My FIL told me the benefits of a trailer plow...ESPECIALLY with a Compact Tractor..
-No need to adjust anything on the tractor...no tweaking of the 3pt to level it
-Virtually infinate adjustabilty of the hitch so I can be in the furrow...even with the "odd" wheel spacing of CUT's.
-Once the plow is set...you forget it....I parked it and when I hitch it up next fall, I know it will be fine.
I'm no plow expert by any means...the furrows you see in the pics, are the first I've ever turned in my lifetime....

·
Premium Member
6,698 Posts
This is the first time I have heard that not using the 3pt was a better way to go. Looks like you made the right choice. Good tools can really aid in finished results.

·
Registered
733 Posts
Discussion Starter · #5 ·
This is the first time I have heard that not using the 3pt was a better way to go. Looks like you made the right choice. Good tools can really aid in finished results.
Trust me Randy, it was "news" to me too...I knew my FIL used a trailer type himself, but I just thought it was because thats what he had... After hearing him explain the virtues of a trailer type, the next "problem" was finding one...here in New England they appear to be rarer then hens teeth...I know there used to be a bazillion of them 10 years ago, but the high scrap iron prices pretty much cleaned up every fence row around.