Green Tractor Talk banner

1 - 5 of 5 Posts

·
Premium Member
873 Posts
I have zero experience with snow removal other than using the FEL to shovel off our 100 yard driveway. That was the one time we got enough snow to go out and play with the tractor. I have to say that blowing snow going in reverse looks extremely uncomfortable while twisted around looking backwards, especially if you had a lot to remove. A cab would seem even more confined. :unknown: It does look like the blower works well though.

·
Premium Member
13,034 Posts
I have zero experience with snow removal other than using the FEL to shovel off our 100 yard driveway. That was the one time we got enough snow to go out and play with the tractor. I have to say that blowing snow going in reverse looks extremely uncomfortable while twisted around looking backwards, especially if you had a lot to remove. A cab would seem even more confined. :unknown: It does look like the blower works well though.
It's not as bad as you might think, especially on larger tractors with a roomier seating area. Probably one of the most common snow removal attachments is a rear blade and I'll bet the majority of its use is when pushing snow while going in reverse.

I have a front blower and rear blade on my tractor. The majority of our snow falls requires the rear blade which of course means driving in reverse. I pushed snow in reverse with my old Ford 9N for over 20 years.

Granted, some folks have neck or back conditions that severely limit their ability to turn their head or twist around.

Reactions: JD4044M and JDLTG

·
Premium Member
3,973 Posts
Discussion Starter #4
It's not as bad as you might think, especially on larger tractors with a roomier seating area. Probably one of the most common snow removal attachments is a rear blade and I'll bet the majority of its use is when pushing snow while going in reverse.