Green Tractor Talk banner

1 - 11 of 11 Posts

·
Registered
5 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I'm a new farmer and after borrowing tractors from family for a year and a half, I was able to buy my first tractor...an open station 2003 6420 MFWD with 640 loader. Has the 24F/24R gears, which I really like. It has less than 1200 hours and is really clean.
I've used it for some light work, but also hooked it up to a 20ft batwing to do some mowing. It has worked flawlessly, and I have been really proud to own such a tractor. Today, I hopped on it to get some chores done and it acts like it is in gear and won't crank. Yes, as a new tractor owner, I admit that I have left it in gear before and only realized it when it wouldn't start back up. Thankfully it was on level ground. This time, it is in park, PTO off and hydraulic shuttle shift is in neutral (automatically goes to neutral when you put it in park). Opened the fuse box on left side behind the seat and all of them look good and are not blown. I have crawled under looking for anything loose and checked other connections. They all seem good. It just seems like a minor electrical issue. I don't have an multimeter, so I don't know if the starter is getting voltage, but I doubt it. It seems like a safety that is keeping it from letting it start. Does the PTO knob typically go bad.
It has had the old fuel lines replaced years ago as I received the service records when I purchased. So it has been taken care of. At that time the old fuel lines caused a fuel pump issue. As a result the fuel pump and new injectors were installed. Any tips on the safeties that must be met to start other than in park, PTO off, and hydraulic shuttle in neutral?
Thank you. I hope to have this tractor for many years on the cattle farm, but need better luck than this so far!

·
Registered
1,986 Posts
Welcome to GTT