Green Tractor Talk banner

1 - 7 of 7 Posts

·
Registered
1 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hello. I'm new to the John Deere world but just got a 1997 755 hydrostat 4wd. I was wondering if anyone could tell me if the pto is supposed to go right into gear with no easing into it. This is my first hydrostat w/o a clutch. I've tried pushing the lever up real easy but it doesn't make any difference. It kills the motor every time unless I have it wound up and just bump it slowly a few times until the bush hog blades start spinning a little, then I can get it into gear and keep running. Is this normal? or do I need to take it in and get it checked out?
Any advice would be appreciated.

Bob Boomershine

·
Registered
3,687 Posts
:wgtt:

We have an 855,, and the pto just engages,, no issues, but, we are only running a rear finish mower,,

it is entirely possible that your bush hog has too much inertia to simply be engaged,,,
so, all may be well,,,

I even go through an "engage routine" with my 50HP tractor,, when a heavy mass has to start turning,,,

Good luck with your tractor,,,:good2:

·
Premium Member
6,371 Posts
That sounds normal. They are a lot of mass to get going.

Reactions: etcallhome

·
Premium Member
15,389 Posts
Welcome from Preston County, West Virginia

:wgtt:

·
Registered
66 Posts
Welcome!

On my 655 (little less horse than yours) I usually have to engage implements that draw more power (finish mower comes to mind) at WOT. When I took delivery of my tractor in 1986, the dealer simply dropped it off at my house. Got on the machine and went to go mow - machine stalled when trying to engage my MMM. Called the dealer - he said on the smaller 55 series just wind it up and then engage the PTO.

Now that my machine is older, I try to baby it by engaging what I can at an idle and then open it up. Hope this helps!

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

·
Registered
482 Posts
How big of a mower? Are you setting the engine to PTO speed first?