Green Tractor Talk banner

1 - 20 of 22 Posts

Registered
Discussion Starter #1
First, I apologize for the lengthy post. If you don't want the background details, skip to the last part. (Marked with ***)

So, I'm a complete newb who's going to buy a 1025R. I have a vague idea of what I want, but I could use some advice. So I'll start with some background information.

I'm 60, in relatively good health, and want to keep it that way. We bought a 2800sqft house in Allen TX on 1.2 acres. (On a street where all 30 lots are about an acre.) The property was never landscaped properly, nor updated inside. (Which is why we bought it, as well as the lot size/shape and location. Wife wanted a "clean slate".) So, we have a LOT of landscaping projects ahead of us. Wife wants a "park" of her own. (She's not very social.) I would like that as well, I just don't want to break my back achieving and maintaining it. Hence the tractor purchase. We already have a JD E120 Lawn Tractor that we bought 6 months ago to take keep the ugly Bermuda/weed lawns at bay until we can redo them. I'm self-employed and work from home, so I have time to work around the yard. My wife works part-time from home, and also has lots of time, but she's a bit delicate and can't spend more than a couple hours at it a day. I myself am a DIY'er, and my wife just wants to save money and have me do things. (She's more comfortable telling ME what to do than others.)

So here's the main things we need to do:
1. Clear all the stumps from the planter beds along the front and back of the house. (Mostly bushes and crape myrtles, which we've already cut back.) We've already done the back, by hand, ugh.
2. Remove the fence enclosing the small backyard, and put up a new fence that encloses the entire backyard. That's about 600 linear feet of fence, or roughly 75-100 posts. (We will also be pulling about 300 ft of old fence along the back and east side that are in rough shape.)