Green Tractor Talk banner

1 - 17 of 17 Posts

·
Registered
36 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I am new to the forum so please excuse my ignorance to forum rules as I am still reading and learning.
I have a 46 or 47 long hood/slant dash all fuel A. I enjoy local county fair tractor pulling even though I regularly take dead last. I have tried pulling on both gas and diesel fuel thanks to having a working set of shutters to help maintain engine temp. That being said I do better burning gas. My question is on magneto timing. I have a 25 degree drive cup and have the starting/impulse timing set to fire when the Mark's on the flywheel and cause cover line up. I had the running timing set at roughly 25 degrees. I have a theory that today's fuels burn faster and ignite easier so I have set my run timing currently set at 15 degrees advance to see how it pulls in the upcoming contest. I am however curious on everyone's opinion or past experiences with what I am planning on trying. I am not trying to place first in every poll I go to but middle of the feild would be nice.
Thanks in advance for the replies.

·
Administrator
20,366 Posts
I would think that a day of pulling with multiple variables like timing being kept accounted for in a logbook. You should record everything you can think of to track performance if you are shooting for every lb in pulling force. 10* is HUGE. I would go 2* and try. Then try another 2*. Keep a log and keep going. You will find what works and what doesn't.

·
Registered
11,760 Posts
welcome from south central western Pa.:wgtt:

show us a pic of ur A-ok we love pics here:bigthumb:

i should of looked at ur join date before i welcomed u-sorry about:unknown::flag_of_truce:

·
Registered
36 Posts
Discussion Starter #4
welcome from south central western Pa.:wgtt:

show us a pic of ur A-ok we love pics here:bigthumb:

i should of looked at ur join date before i welcomed u-sorry about:unknown::flag_of_truce: