Green Tractor Talk banner

1 - 14 of 14 Posts

·
Registered
129 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
So I have a 1025R with the FEL and 60" deck for my 15 acres. I don't want a back hoe nor do I have a place to store it. However I do find myself taking out a handful of stumps in the 8" - 10" range. Mostly old ones. I removed 15 last summer using the FEL, SawZall, axe, fire, etc... I have pretty sandy soil and no rocks to speak of. Has anyone had any experience using the Artillian front hoe bucket? I can see using it to tear out the smaller roots around the stump and cutting the biggest ones. And I know what I can and can't do with the loader arms, I'm not a novice to stump removal obviously.

Thoughts or experience?

·
Administrator
18,501 Posts

·
Senior GTT Super Slacker
38,083 Posts
2 ft fork tines may work for ya.

Reactions: C-Range

·
Registered
619 Posts

·
Registered
129 Posts
Discussion Starter #5
Thanks Ken! For some reason my search doesn't seem to work from my tablet. Odd...

I like the short fork idea but I really like the bucket hoe and if I'm order forks already, wth...

·
RIP Chris
148 Posts
Hi, the FHB would certainly be helpful for liberating the peripheral roots but you probably realize this setup isn't going to do much against a tap root. Full length pallet forks have no business in this application. In sandy soil, pulling might be helpful in loosening, in combination with prying and cutting as you go. A backhoe is the right tool for that job no matter how you slice it.

Last summer, my FHB was on my Artillian frame for most of the summer, second only to my grapple. We used the bucket to transplant a multitude of young trees around our property, which took mere minutes to do each one. These little buckets just keep showing more and more uses.

Attachments

·
Registered
453 Posts

·
Registered
23,281 Posts