Green Tractor Talk banner

1 - 11 of 11 Posts

·
Registered
217 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hey all,
I was watching a TTWT video (Create Storage Area for Trash Can with Your Compact Tractor! - YouTube) and came across a comment (I'm assuming in reference to backdragging at the 6:42 mark).

"I would be careful about backing up with the dump cylinders extended like that. That is a good way to bend the cylinder rams"

I'm still new to FELs, I'm wondering if someone can point me to the right way to backdrag with the blade? Is it just using float?

Thanks!

·
Registered
23,284 Posts
So do you have a blade on your loader arms then? If you have your dump cylinders extended your blade will be basically horizontal.

·
Registered
1,403 Posts
Hey all,
I was watching a TTWT video (Create Storage Area for Trash Can with Your Compact Tractor! - YouTube) and came across a comment (I'm assuming in reference to backdragging at the 6:42 mark).

"I would be careful about backing up with the dump cylinders extended like that. That is a good way to bend the cylinder rams"

I'm still new to FELs, I'm wondering if someone can point me to the right way to backdrag with the blade? Is it just using float?

Thanks!
Hello Scooterman, I have run equipment most of my life and I went and watched the video you are referring too and there is nothing wrong with back dragging that brush the way Tim was. Basically all he was doing was pulling it closer to him so he could get a better chance of scooping it into the bucket. Now if he was trying to pull on a rock or something that was stuck and not moving and he was ripping and tearing on it and spinning the tires trying to force it out of the ground then yes, i would say he could have possibly torn something up. You will see in Tim's videos that he is careful in what he does and even when the wheels are off the ground he is still in control and isn't hurting his machine. These machines are tough and capable of doing alot of different tasks.