Green Tractor Talk banner

1 - 20 of 24 Posts

·
Registered
397 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I just read the sticky regarding the need for ballast. What an eye opener, I haven’t even gotten the tractor yet and I am trying to learn as much as possible. I had an x728 with a plow and added 4-42 lb weights for additional traction when plowing with a JD 54 blade. I was able to plow through snow higher than the blade, no problem. The increased traction was awesome.

Now I will have an FEL and Mauser cab on my 1025r and the ballast thread has me second guessing my order. I figured the Mauser cab at 440 lbs could be counted for some of my ballast needs so I was going to not get the ballast box and go with a heavy hitch weight bar and 8 42 lb suitcase weights. The ballast box just sticks out so far. Now I’m wondering if I’m making a mistake. I have never used a FEL before and I’m sure I’ll be trying to do everything with it. Weight in the air is new to me.

Please give me some guidance if you believe I need to change my thinking and disregard using any of the 440 lb Mauser cab in my ballast plan .

·
Super Moderator
5,110 Posts
Now I will have an FEL and Mauser cab on my 1025r and the ballast thread has me second guessing my order. I figured the Mauser cab at 440 lbs could be counted for some of my ballast needs so I was going to not get the ballast box and go with a heavy hitch weight bar and 8 42 lb suitcase weights. The ballast box just sticks out so far. Now I’m wondering if I’m making a mistake. I have never used a FEL before and I’m sure I’ll be trying to do everything with it. Weight in the air is new to me.

Please give me some guidance if you believe I need to change my thinking and disregard using any of the 440 lb Mauser cab in my ballast plan .
Personally, I'd completely ignore the cab as far as ballast goes.