Green Tractor Talk banner

1 - 20 of 22 Posts

·
Registered
6 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hello all! I’m new to modern tractors, and am getting ready to purchase a JD 3R series tractor from a dealer. I own 6 acres of recently cleared and stumped land, which I am going to turn into a home site / mini farm. The land was rough graded by a bulldozer, but is in need of fine grading and filling in a few low areas. I will also have a 250 foot driveway to maintain (with ditches), and possibly 1/3 mile of dirt road (if the county won’t do it in a timely manner). I’m hoping to purchase a few implements with my tractor purchase. I have access to an OLD HEAVY 6 foot 3 point scrape blade, but it’s pretty worn out and difficult to use. I’ve heard a lot of talk about box blades and recently learned about land planes. Which would yall recommend for my tasks at need? Thanks!

·
Registered
3,167 Posts
Box blades are excellent for moving dirt, leveling, etc. land plane is great for finish grading and regular driveway maintenance. I Land Plane my drive and the big gravel area between the shop and house About once a month. Keeps the nice gravel on top and the weeds down

Reactions: Minuteman17

·
Registered
1,815 Posts
Use a box blade.

·
Registered
523 Posts
If the material is generally in the right area but just not smooth a land plane works best. If you need to pull a large amount of material to a new location a box blade will do that quicker. A land plane will move material but it will take more passes. The land plane is also easier for a new user to get comfortable with. Whichever way you go get scarifiers.

With the info you have provided I'd say the land plane is probably going to work out better.

·
Registered
6 Posts
Discussion Starter · #6 ·
Hmm. Sounds like in the long run, I’m gonna need both. I failed to mention that I will be getting a loader with the tractor. Perhaps that would help with moving the large amounts of dirt?

·
Registered
1,296 Posts