Green Tractor Talk banner
1 - 15 of 15 Posts

·
Registered
JD 455, 4610, 4052R, and 6120E
568 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 · (Edited)
I have been using my 4610 for 17 yrs to cut and haul firewood. I have always wanted to design/build a chain saw holder to bolt onto the right loader arm, and I finally got around to it this week. I used scrap steel I had on hand. Everything is TIG welded.

Green Motor vehicle Plant Grass Gas

Wheel Green Tire Vehicle Motor vehicle

Green Motor vehicle Plant Asphalt Mode of transport

Plant Green Automotive tire Guitar accessory Musical instrument

The loader arm had two pre-drilled holes, one near the top, and one near the bottom that I was able to use 1/2" bolts through to attach the holder. I cut the head off the top bolt and welded it in flush so the chain saw wouldn't hang up on it when inserting into the holder. I have Stihl and Husqvarna chain saws, and the holder works with all 3 saws.

Green Waste containment Plant Grass Terrestrial plant

Wheel Green Tire Motor vehicle Automotive tire

Motor vehicle Green Automotive tire Automotive exterior Grass

I like the genuine John Deere spray cans, but on a day like today where I was spraying outside with the temperature at 55 F, this Krylon paint is pretty amazing. The color match is good, and it goes on smooth with a good gloss, and dries to the touch (not tacky) in a couple of hours.
Wheel Automotive tire Tire Motor vehicle Tread

·
Registered
2,308 Posts
Nicely done.

Reactions: Mackford13

·
Premium Member
Early 2017 Vintage 1025R TLB (260/H120)
3,671 Posts
That is really clean looking. I wish I knew how to weld.
I was saying that this time last year - It's never to late to learn and while (I think) TIG is a dark magic, MIG is very easy to learn and very handy!

OP: Great looking chainsaw holder and very nice welds!

·
Registered
3,263 Posts
Very nicely done. Looks great! I've used that JD green KRYLON paint many times. It works great.

Reactions: MattL

·
Registered
1,274 Posts