Green Tractor Talk banner
1 - 17 of 17 Posts

·
Registered
195 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
What category is the hitch on a 5045E? All of the implements that I have been using for 25+ years with my JD420 have attachment pins that are a bit too small for the 5045E. I would say the pins are ~ ¾ of an inch and the holes on the 3 point hitch are about 1 inch. What is the best method for dealing with this issue. I have considered getting the l - match quick connect but that seems dependent upon category as well. I found this in a manual and it looks like a feasible solution but I will need to know what category I am trying to convert too.
OMSJ301048
Any thoughts?

·
Senior GTT Super Slacker
46,352 Posts
Page 9, "allows hookup to CAT I OR CAT II" not sure what that really means but would guess CAT II.
John Deere

·
Premium Member
10,207 Posts
Your tractor uses a Cat II three point hitch, and it sounds like your implements are Cat I.

You can get bushings to fit your current implements, they just slide over the hitch pins and you attach the three point hitch as normal. You could go with an iMatch, but if you buy a Cat II iMatch it will require you modify your cat I implements as the pins for cat II are a few inches further apart than cat I. You could buy a cat I iMatch, and use bushings between the three point arms and the quick hitch, then use the appropriate bushings to make your implements for the quick hitch.

You can also buy cat II lower hitch pins that will replace your cat I implement pins, and drill the top link hole bigger to fit a cat II top link pin.

I'll just caution you, be gentle using cat I implements on a bigger tractor. I've done some damage to cat I implements with a cat II tractor when I encountered some buried rocks. The bigger tractor will have the weight and power to damage the implement instead of being stopped like a smaller tractor would. :)

·
Fit Rite Hydraulics
752 Posts