Green Tractor Talk banner
1 - 7 of 7 Posts

·
Registered
1 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I'm a rookie- just got a 4310. It can be a bit hard to change the gear ranges, and sometimes it takes several attempts to get it to move even though it seems to be in gear. In reading through posts online and in the manual, it seems like I should check the transmission oil. However, I find info on how to change it, but my elementary question is- how do I check it?

·
Administrator
23,165 Posts
Welcome!

There are two ways, one is the sight glass on the rear of the transmission usually above the PTO shaft. The fluid should be about 1/2 way in the glass when the machine is level, the 3PH and FEL is fully lowered, and the engine has been turned of for at least 15 minutes.

As for the shifter, you need to make sure the shaft is lubricated where it enters the transmission case, the shaft is steel, and the case is aluminum-this are has been known to corrode and bind up the shaft, and it can break right there since there is a o-ring groove cut into the shaft. Flood this area with Fluid Film (best IMHO) or PB Blaster, WD40 is a waste. The brake shafts where they enter the rear hubs are also a known problem.

Here is a link to the online manual: OMLVU13193_H2

Attachments

·
Registered
8 Posts
Fluid Site Glass - 2002 4310 ePowrReverser

Welcome!

There are two ways, one is the sight glass on the rear of the transmission usually above the PTO shaft. The fluid should be about 1/2 way in the glass when the machine is level, the 3PH and FEL is fully lowered, and the engine has been turned of for at least 15 minutes.