Green Tractor Talk banner
1 - 20 of 78 Posts

·
Premium Member
1,096 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I have been riding dirt bikes and four wheelers for forty years. I consider my self educated on these items, but not so much on the side by sides. For the last 15 years or so mainly riding four wheelers. Done my time on trails, tracks, racing and promo shows. Now I just put around on a 4x4 ATV.

We moved a few years ago to a decent size property. The seller had an old Kawasaki Mule 550 that was negotiated into the deal. It is basically a golf cart with a 250-300cc engine on it, but it is tuff as a boat anchor and always cranks when I turn the key. I find that I use it a lot, and would use it more if it was more capable. I need an upgrade, a serious upgrade. I don't consider myself "cheap" but just haven't been able to bring myself to spend the money on a new side by side. I fixed up an old Jeep XJ and use it some, but it isn't the right tool for the job either... So, I think I am going to sell of a few old toys that I can really do without to help offset the sticker shock of a new side by side.

First thing is there is no inventory right now, and I am not quite ready to buy yet, so I have some time to sort things out.

Here are some quick highlights from what I know now;
Polaris Ranger - I will for sure be looking at least a XP1000 model, and probably more like a Northstar Edition. Polaris pretty much owns this part of the SxS market and all others are compared to it. Huge accessory market available.
Can-Am Defender - HD10 model. I have yet to look closely at one, but from memory, appear to be well made. Seats maybe a little more comfortable than the Ranger. Accessory market is okay and growing.
John Deere - I am a huge green and yellow fan (mine would be camo), but to be brutally honest... the JD flagship models just don't compete.
Kubota - a little different animal, but they do make good stuff and that warrants at least a serious look.