Green Tractor Talk banner

1 - 20 of 21 Posts

·
Premium Member
4,571 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Ate some stir fry veggies the other evening that were excellent...crispy with a smoky flavor like they had come off a grill or smoker. The waiter said they were prepared with Sesame oil, ginger and garlic. Sesame oil is new to me; just wondered if anyone had experience with it. I bought some and plan to experiment with it. Any testimonials out there?
Thanks,
Dennis

·
Registered
5,351 Posts
Ate some stir fry veggies the other evening that were excellent...crispy with a smoky flavor like they had come off a grill or smoker. The waiter said they were prepared with Sesame oil, ginger and garlic. Sesame oil is new to me; just wondered if anyone had experience with it. I bought some and plan to experiment with it. Any testimonials out there?
Thanks,
Dennis
I have been cooking with it for many years. It is the first thing to hit the pan when I do stir fry which is quite often. I like to put real garlic oil in with it for cooking the meat part of the stir fry. I use ginger powder, teriyaki and soy sauce also in the mix. I also will put in some of the stir fry sauces that can behad at the gourmet Chinese section of most markets. House of Tsao is one such sauce. Yummmm!

·
Registered
4,240 Posts
I've used sesame oil for many years, but just as a flavor additive and not as the main oil for stir frying. I think that it has a very strong flavor and I will just add a dash or two near the end of cooking. I'll use EVOO, peanut or corn oil or other light oil for the main stir fry.

If I am stir frying, I prefer fresh herbs such as garlic and ginger and only use powdered or dried if fresh is not available. To me, there is a night and day difference between powdered ginger and fresh ginger. If you don't use all your ginger root over a period of time, you can freeze it so it won't dry out or mold.

Good to experiment with food and cooking.

Just my 2 cents.

·
Registered
11,678 Posts