Green Tractor Talk banner

1 - 5 of 5 Posts

·
Registered
1 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hello- I have 16 hrs on my new 1025r. My first inspection of the engine is showing what appears to be crank case venting near the oil cap (note buildup near cap.) I am new to tractors so I am wondering if this is normal. If this was a new auto, I would be worried. Any perspective would be much appreciated!
50EA376E-3048-4F22-849A-97B015AB1296.jpeg

·
Registered
1,488 Posts
Looks like blow-by crankcase gasses pushing past the cap. Is the cap tight? I THINK the cap has an O-Ring to seal it, is it present?
I don't think you have a major issue, just the oil fill cap isn't sealing tight.

Reactions: PJR832 and kylew

·
Premium Member
4,255 Posts
Yup. Cap not sealed.
Welcome to GTT
Let us know how you make out

·
Premium Member
11,917 Posts
Make SURE you carefully wipe away such dirt and debris BEFORE unscrewing the cap. Also, once you do remove the cap, clean its underside and O Ring carefully to make sure you are not introducing dirt into the engine when you reinstall and tighten the cap.

I wouldn't be concerned for a couple of reasons.

1. Diesel engines require a break in period and you are just getting started in the break in period of time.
2. The residue collecting the dirt and dust could be from when the engine oil was put into the engine and some was spilled onto the engine and wiped up, but not thoroughly removed the oil residue and dirt will stick to it.

I do want to commend you for even noticing this issue. Many owners never open the hood or check anything so its good you are paying attention to such issues and that you asked about it. Good job on being vigilant and paying attention to your machine. (y)