Green Tractor Talk banner

1 - 6 of 6 Posts

·
Registered
2 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I just bought a 955 with a 70A loader. Within about 20 minutes of getting it home, the left bucket cylinder started leaking like crazy! I pulled the cylinder off and when I took it apart I found that the inner seal that rubs on the rod was in terrible shape. The surface that wipes the rod was torn therefore not sealing at all. When I really started looking at the rod, I saw several places where there are what I would call "dings" in it's surface. It almost looks like some goofball wrapped a chain around it and it left marks and indentations. I smoothed all the ridges with a file followed by sandpaper. It seems like the rod is fairly smooth with no raised spots, but I am not sure how forgiving the inner seals are. I am new to hydraulics, and tractors in general, but I am hoping I don't have to buy a new rod. Anyone out there have an opinion, thanks.
IMG_20190108_154919.jpg IMG_20190108_155129.jpg IMG_20190108_154954.jpg

·
Administrator
20,280 Posts
Personally, I wouldn’t lose any sleep over it. There are much much worse out there operating just fine. Your seal may seep a tiny bit, but that’s ok. If you run your hand along the rod and don’t feel any nicks or raised spots, you’ll be fine. Don’t worry about the spots below the normal areas like tiny dents. Although they make bring a tiny bit of oil out past the seal, it’ll be ok. You did the right thing by polishing down the high spots and sharp edges. :good2:

·
Administrator
17,046 Posts
Welcome to GTT,
Yup, at this point you have nothing to loose but the price of a seal kit - I'd bet it will be fine. There are shops that can re-chrome the rod, so that may be an option if needed.

·
Registered
2 Posts
Discussion Starter #4