Green Tractor Talk banner
1 - 20 of 21 Posts

·
Registered
21 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I wasn't about to pay for the JD weights, so I cobbled this together. Yes, I know I'm a terrible welder. Features - quick add/removal of weights, doesn't block the headlights, and weights off you can use the loader.

Giant piece of angle iron (about 3/8") and 2 feet of 1" tube: $50 from my local scrap heap, and about 50lb
4x deck blocks, about $8 each, and 200lb altogether.
4x 1/2" bolts n nuts

Drilling took forever but wasn't hard with the drill press. I lined up the holes using a stencil for accuracy - still had to file 2 of them a bit.
Welding the tubes on, I mostly eyeballed it. Tack weld, test fit a block, pull it off carefully, finish weld, repeat.

The tip of the mount just clears the loader arms (but would hit the blocks). So blocks off and you can use the loader. Taking loader off, the stand folds down and away, so no problem there.

Works great, I have much better turning traction with my (definitely heavy) snow blower on, no more wheelies :)

Tire Wheel Green Motor vehicle Automotive tire

Tire Wheel Motor vehicle Automotive tire Hood

·
Registered
21 Posts
Discussion Starter · #4 ·
Those welds Flux core or stick? I agree with Herminator- If it doesn't break, it's a good weld.
flux core on a tiny little ProPoint TIG welder. My first welds! They tubes dont take much abuse, just the blocks shifting occasionally, so I think the welds will be fine.

·
Premium Member
1,447 Posts
great idea!

If I had a concern it would be that vibration could crack or break a concrete block and cause it to fall off... I dont think there is any reinforcement in those. Wrap them with duct/gorilla tape and should keep that from happening.

·
Registered
21 Posts
Discussion Starter · #10 ·
Nice job Six Day...
Our news saying you are getting, have got a blizzard.. ??