Green Tractor Talk banner

Driveway alarms; do they work?

3320 Views 14 Replies 14 Participants Last post by  Dr Kubar
Northern Tool has Chamberlain and Mighty Mule driveway alarm systems.

Chamberlain Wireless Motion Alert System, Model# CWA2000 | Motion Detection | Northern Tool + Equipment

Mighty Mule Wireless Driveway Alarm, Model FM231 | Motion Detection | Northern Tool + Equipment

Do either one of these work worth a darn? Are there other brands worth considering?

Or is this another good idea gone bad due to Chinese manufacturing?
1 - 1 of 1 Posts
I have been using the Mighty Mule units for 4 years and am very satisfied with them. I have two of them installed and they trigger the same receiver in the house. The only problem I have with them is that the receiver sounds are very high frequency and as a lot of men are as they get older, they lose the ability to hear high frequencies. I fixed that by setting the receiver inside a box with a microphone to a larger speaker. These units require you to bury a sensing rod along the driveway, therefore they do not pick up anything except traffic on the driveway.