Green Tractor Talk banner

1 - 20 of 36 Posts

·
Premium Member
13,296 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
When is the best time to do this project?
Let me start by saying I have done the driveway right several years ago with a good base followed by crusher run on top. I know I don't want to wait until the dog days of summer when the driveway is like concrete, but is it too wet and soft now or should I wait a little longer until dries out some more? I recently bought a box blade and played around with it making a pad for a shelter behind the garage but I'm still fairly new to it's use, any tips and pointers will be appreciated.

·
Premium Member
12,105 Posts
I don't know your exact soil type but you can typically work on it anytime the ground is in the middle between soggy mud and hard as concrete. :)

·
Premium Member
3,803 Posts
I always test the surface with my Box Blade first. If to wet it just hangs up in the Box and won't spread good. If too dry it just makes a fluffy looking surface that has to be packed when damp. When the material flows out under the rear blade a little damp it looks so nice flat and even. I love grading with my Box Blade it is very forgiving compared to a regular rear blade that can dig in once in a while on a soft spot and start a wave action on the surface that is hard to remove back to flat.

·
Premium Member
13,296 Posts
Discussion Starter #4
I don't know your exact soil type but you can typically work on it anytime the ground is in the middle between soggy mud and hard as concrete. :)