Green Tractor Talk banner
1 - 20 of 25 Posts

·
Registered
38 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
First time homeowner with a septic field. I’ve heard you should never put anything heavier than a light lawnmower on top of the field. I’m getting a 1025R with a 60D deck on Wednesday (woohoo!) and am wondering if I should pick up a push mower to mow my drain field.

The concern about the weight also has me questioning whether or not to get fluid in the tires. Is the 1025R stable on moderate
slopes (15°) without tire ballast?

I saw a few threads about septic fields, but they were about mound systems. I just have a conventional septic system.

·
Registered
4,811 Posts
I definitely avoid driving my 4720 or my skid loader over my conventional drain field, but I have been driving my x748 and 997 over it for many years. Your 1025 is 400ish pounds heavier than my x748, but 300ish pounds lighter than my 997. I think your fine. I've never been a fan of fluid filled tires or wheel weights for lawn mowers.
I would mow without the loader, and without ballast on the drain field.
There will be others that will be knowledgeable on its stability on slopes. The fluid would for sure make it more stabile on slopes.

·
Registered
145 Posts
Same as Arlen. I wouldn't worry about it. Avoid if soggy after rain. My 2305 mowed mine for years. I took the loader off to mow but had filled r4s. No ruts or any noticable issues.

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

·
Registered
6,045 Posts
I mow over my septic field with my 4066R, but my soil conditions could be quite different than yours.

Dave

Reactions: TylerG and arlen

·
Registered
3,741 Posts
I have been driving my 1026R over my septic field since a got it back in 2011. I mowed over with a 20hp Murray for 15 or so years before getting the 1026.

Reactions: TylerG

·
Registered
197 Posts