Green Tractor Talk banner
1 - 12 of 12 Posts

·
Registered
3 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I have a 2007 JD 4720, I'm new to hydrostatic drive, I'm having difficulty "feathering" forward or reverse a slight amount. It proceeds in the direction of travel after the pedal is no longer pushed, and the brake can't seem to over come it. Is there something wrong with my hydro - what am I doing incorrectly? or is this normal?

·
Registered
5,322 Posts
There is a roll out setting accessible from the front display. Your operating manual will tell you how to access it. Experiment with different settings until you find one you like. I like mine on the longest rollout, but sounds like you want yours shorter.
Make sure your pedals are returning properly also. The pivot points might need cleaning and lubricating

·
Registered
6,043 Posts
Check your manual under Motion Match. I have mine set in the middle position. I have tried both more and less, but decided I liked it right in the middle.

Dave

·
Registered
3 Posts
Discussion Starter · #4 ·
Perhaps a better way of describing the issue is when I'm backing up to put on an implement I have a difficult time controlling it to a very fine amount vs my clutch tractors. How do people back up to an implement and move 1" at a time with Hydro?

·
Registered
JD 455, 4610, 4052R, and 6120E
640 Posts
Perhaps a better way of describing the issue is when I'm backing up to put on an implement I have a difficult time controlling it to a very fine amount vs my clutch tractors. How do people back up to an implement and move 1" at a time with Hydro?
You say you are new to using a hydrostatic transmission, so you probably just need to make sure that the A range is selected, and practice with the pedals.