Green Tractor Talk banner

1 - 20 of 24 Posts

·
Registered
236 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I've been tiling off and on since the Spring of 2017 on the kitchen, dining area, pantry and mud room, and I'm so near the end I can taste it. Sadly, I didn't figure out until near the end what a great tool an angle grinder is. I bought the 20V DeWalt model because I needed to cut the hole in the middle of a tile for the toilet flange you see in the picture below. That hole took me five minutes in my first use of the tool. What a fool I've been. Oh well. All I have left to do is tile that half bath and it will all be done - this coming weekend.

Attachments

·
Premium Member
1,706 Posts
Looking good.
You can cut a round hole with an angle grinder.
Be sure to fill the gap around the toilet flange with grout. If the toilet seal ever leaks, it will help stop water from getting to the sub floor.

·
Registered
58 Posts
Nice work... but i really like the fact that you used "John Deere Green" spacers.... :laugh: So you know it's a quality job... :hi:

·
Registered
2,208 Posts
Good looking work. Takes allot of patience and perseverance but the results are very fulfilling.

·
Premium Member
1,706 Posts
How is that different from a drill?
That tool is more like a router. You can drill a starter hole with it, then you cut side ways with the side of the bit. I do not believe it would work with hard floor tile. The bits would burn up very quickly.

·
Senior GTT Super Slacker
37,404 Posts
That tool is more like a router. You can drill a starter hole with it, then you cut side ways with the side of the bit. I do not believe it would work with hard floor tile. The bits would burn up very quickly.
Using a tile bit I've used these tools to cut holes in bathroom wall tiles (tiles already on the wall).

·
Registered
236 Posts
Discussion Starter #11
Fixing tile